Page 1 of 2

First Time Setting up Server

Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:16 am
by Kikai
i followed this guide here https://wiki.dspt.info/index.php/Building_the_Server and setup for local host but once i log in it shutdown with letting me in the game. am i missing something?

Re: First Time Setting up Server

Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 3:12 am
by Delaide
Go to your server folder, and find the folder called "log"

Copy the log and paste here, like this:

Code: Select all

[1;32m[Status][0m Memory manager initialised: [1;37mlog/DSP.leaks[0m
[1;37m[Info][0m DarkStar - Git Revision Hash: [1;37m0bde2b86f4590bd3e1997033f2f1fd6873f4abb3[0m.
[1;32m[Status][0m do_init: begin server initialization...
[15:09:48][1;37m[Info][0m Console Silent Setting: 0 			 - [1;32m[OK][0m
[15:09:48][1;32m[Status][0m do_init: map_config is reading 		 - [1;32m[OK][0m
[15:09:48][1;32m[Status][0m luautils::init:lua initializing... 		 - [1;32m[OK][0m
[15:09:48][1;32m[Status][0m do_init: sqlhandle is allocating[15:09:48][1;35m[SQL][0m Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)
If you see a message like mine, that says access denied, then you forgot to change the passwords in the conf files as the walk through showed.
Login Server Settings
In windows explorer navigate to c:\dsp\conf
Open login_darkstar.conf in a text editer (notepad)
Scroll down to the bottom and validate/update the following lines:
mysql_host: 127.0.0.1
mysql_port: 3306
mysql_login: root
mysql_password: root <-- change this to your password you wrote down during the MySQL install (flag)
mysql_database: dspdb

Map Server Settings
In windows explorer navigate to c:\dsp\conf
Open map_darkstar.conf in a text editer (notepad)
Scroll down to the bottom and validate/update the following lines:
mysql_host: 127.0.0.1
mysql_port: 3306
mysql_login: root
mysql_password: root <-- change this to your password you wrote down during the MySQL install (flag)
mysql_database: dspdb

Search Server Settings
In windows explorer navigate to c:\dsp\conf
Open search_server.conf in a text editer (notepad)
Scroll down to the bottom and validate/update the following lines:
mysql_host: 127.0.0.1
mysql_port: 3306
mysql_login: root
mysql_password: root <-- change this to your password you wrote down during the MySQL install (flag)
mysql_database: dspdb

Re: First Time Setting up Server

Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 7:24 am
by Kikai
Hey, thank you for thew quick reply but I solved the issue. My computer wasn't running it as an admin. Once changed it is letting me in. Is there a place I can go to get help when I run into problems?

Re: First Time Setting up Server

Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 8:09 am
by Delaide
Only here and the IRC chat area.
From the github:
IRC Channel

Server: irc.rizon.net
Port: 6667
Channel: #darkstarproject

Re: First Time Setting up Server

Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 3:48 pm
by Kikai
I've other question. Is I wanted to host a small private server for friend's would I need a kick ass computer and intent speed? And since I followed the directions in the link above what is all available as far as expansions and such

Re: First Time Setting up Server

Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:52 am
by Delaide
Hopefully someone else can answer your PC power question. I have no idea, sorry.

For your second question, first, please check this to get a general idea:
https://wiki.dspt.info/index.php/What_Works

It is a little out of date though.
Dynamis still has some problems with AI, but for the most part it works. But, the pop items don't.
I have ran through some limbus', and they are working, but have not tested every one yet.
For assault, well, you can get through the rank until you need an assault, but I have not been able to get them working yet.
Unsure of the BCNM status, since I don't really do those.
I know PUP has been implemented, but I believe the pet is broken still.
For CoP missions, I know you can get SEA access, but I have not tried the missions beyond that.
Most of the jailors are broken, although you can pop them, get drops, etc. Their AI behavior is messed up.

Unsure about the other stuff.

Re: First Time Setting up Server

Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:27 am
by whasf
The game server takes about 500MB of memory when it's running, which goes up slightly as people log on and start playing. CPU usage is based off of how many people are on it at once depending on what they're doing (it's still pretty low, about 5-10% CPU usage with about 20 people on).

It is not multi-CPU aware, single threaded, and is a 32bit application.

Figure about 1kb-3kb/sec per person playing (upstream) for the bandwidth requirement. That means you'll need more upstream capacity than downstream.

Re: First Time Setting up Server

Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:28 pm
by atom0s
whasf wrote:The game server takes about 500MB of memory when it's running, which goes up slightly as people log on and start playing. CPU usage is based off of how many people are on it at once depending on what they're doing (it's still pretty low, about 5-10% CPU usage with about 20 people on).

It is not multi-CPU aware, single threaded, and is a 32bit application.

Figure about 1kb-3kb/sec per person playing (upstream) for the bandwidth requirement. That means you'll need more upstream capacity than downstream.
For the record it can be compiled for 64bit. :)

Re: First Time Setting up Server

Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:53 pm
by whasf
atom0s wrote:
For the record it can be compiled for 64bit. :)
Ohh.. Well still, if/when it requires more than 3GB of memory I'll start saying that :)

Re: First Time Setting up Server

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 4:34 pm
by CharlieFrost
seen this thread and it is actually intriguing. So with a AMD quad core processor 6GB ram and 6MB service I shouldn't have a problem hosting 100 people if I so choose? I've been thinking about running a small server from my WIN8.1 Transformer Tablet.